Be prepared

No matter what day of the week or what time it is my mind can very quickly take me back to the prison of debt. It’s valuable to me personally and helps with the reality of my minimalist debt (mortgage) free journey:

Woke up in a complete panic that even though I had just recieved my letter confirming employment I was in fact losing my job. Dismissed. No questions asked. Just dreaming rubbish as the alarm went off. Horrible dream but one that would create mayhem. 

That was quite a pleasant feeling indeed. So yesterday I withdrew £250. My POA to give the other half £50 and then spend the rest on my train fair. 

Handing over £180 cash felt good. My cash. My earnings. My means of commuting. 

Plus my “no debit card plan” can commence. Even got given change back £11.80

Essentially I now have £31.80 cash that needs to see me until next Thursday (fingers crossed until payday).

I have a budget on Google Drive that I can now utilise anywhere so hoping this shall work. It will work. 

It’s strange because reading back over my debt diaries that I kept, makes me realise I was 110% persuading myself everything was improving. Even when it was not. It really wasn’t.

The only time things really improved, really improved – was when every single piece of plastic credit card got chopped up. It’s funny though because each time I was making progress on savings. Each time I thought I was winning, small wins, I’d get flattened in microseconds. Yet another “emergency” not a take-a-way, but like faults on the car or the garage roof repair.

Without that initial emergency fund complete, there was no hope. The moment the protection was there, I seem to be left alone for longer periods of time. That only gave me more chance to save! The comfort of having paper over plastic for protection was great. 

It honestly feels like you don’t get picked on when you’re prepared. Just like the scouts taught me years ago as boy: Be prepared.

Leave a Reply

